What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Questions about concrete pads?  (Read 5303 times)

BigK75

Questions about concrete pads?
« on: May 08, 2007, 07:52:33 am »
Hey Guys:

I got a quick question about a concrete pad I am installing.  Most instructions on the web say that I should slope to the pad.  Do I really have to do this for a hot tub pad?  

Also I have never poured concrete before.  I am getting a redi-mix company to bring it and I will wheelbarrow it to the back.  I have never used a float before, how difficult is it?  Should I get someone experienced to come do it?  

Should I use an edger?  

and finally should I use a street broom to give it texture or leave it as is?  

Sorry for all the questions, but I don't want to make a mistake.

Thanks,

Claude

Hot Tub Forum

Questions about concrete pads?
« on: May 08, 2007, 07:52:33 am »

Brewman

• Ultimate Member
  • Lead me not into temptation- I can find it myself!
Re: Questions about concrete pads?
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2007, 08:41:28 am »
How much bigger than your spa is the concrete pad?  

If the spa and the concrete pad are close to the same size- or if the pad is only a bit larger than the spa, then what I'd do is make the pad level.  Then screed the concrete with the narrow edge of a 2X4 that is a couple feet wider than the concrete pad.  That will bring the concrete level with the top of your form.  Then use the float.
 And maybe an edger to give the perimiter a nice finished look.  
In this case I'd not bother with the broom finish, since the spa is covering most of the pad anyway.

If the pad is considerably larger than the spa, I'd put a slight slope to aid water draining, and would worry more about finishing it nicely.  And I'd also consider stress relief (not sure what the trade term is- it helps minimize cracking on large surfaces.)