What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: New owner, question on free Chlorine levels  (Read 9216 times)

jeff925

• HS Sovereign II
New owner, question on free Chlorine levels
« on: February 21, 2007, 09:14:09 pm »
I just got my new HS Soveriegn set up last sat. Everything is working good I think.

One question though, I am using a half teaspoon of dichlor after every soak and i use a non chlorine shock once a week, MPS i think, along with the ozone.

I have tested my water everyday (just to get the hang of things) and my test strips always show Zero free chlorine. Is this normal or is it something i should be worried about? I know the chlorine burns off pretty quickly but I would think that I would show soemthing for this reading.

I am a total newbie so please go easy on me. Thanks
Jeff
« Last Edit: February 21, 2007, 10:57:29 pm by jeff925 »

Hot Tub Forum

New owner, question on free Chlorine levels
« on: February 21, 2007, 09:14:09 pm »

Big1Dog

Re: New owner, question on free Chlorine levels
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2007, 12:37:18 am »
I've had my Vangard for about a month now.  I use the chlorine that came from HS.  I've only used MPS once to shock the tub.  I normally put 1 1/2 Tablespoons of chlorine in after each use and hit with 3 each Saturday.  So far I have great looking water.  Gets used several times a week.
Since I only had a 1 pound start up bottle I droped by the dealer to p/u a 4 pounder.  When I mentioned that I don't use MPS in my spa he looked a little concerned.   I remember reading that you can run a all chlorine spa (as a sanitizer) and it cost half as much as the MPS and does a better job.

Still, I can't figure out what exactly a Fresh Water system is.  Feel free to explain.  
« Last Edit: February 22, 2007, 01:50:57 am by Big1Dog »

Gomboman

• My Pride and Joy
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2007, 01:29:34 am »