What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Scum removers (Enzymes) vs. Clarifiers?  (Read 9464 times)

gores95

• '06 Caldera Geneva
Scum removers (Enzymes) vs. Clarifiers?
« on: October 23, 2006, 11:45:57 pm »
OK I am new at this water thing but my searching of water chem posts has pointed me in the direction of two seemingly useful chemicals:

Leisure Time Scum Gon and Sea Klear 4 in 1 Clarifier.

http://www.rhtubs.com/store/treatment.htm#scum

Chemically I understand the difference between Enzymes and a Clarifier but the 4 in 1 seems like a Clarifier "plus".  That is not only does it clear the water it also removes scum.  Are there enzymes in the Sea Klear?  If it removes scum is an Enzyme product also necessary?

Also do you think its a good idea to have both products in my chemical quiver?  We have had lots of usage of the spa with neighbors & kids and their oils, soaps, etc. so I want to ensure I have the necessary items to combat the foam and scum that is sure to develop.  I also bought one of those scum absorbing sponges:  Zorbo.

I had a little issue with some foam but after shocking with MPS and Dichlor the foam went away.  I could see a light haze on top of the water tonight.  I don't want to overdo it either.

Thanks for the advice!
« Last Edit: October 24, 2006, 10:40:34 am by gores95 »

Hot Tub Forum

Scum removers (Enzymes) vs. Clarifiers?
« on: October 23, 2006, 11:45:57 pm »

kervis

• runnergirl
Re: Scum removers (Enzymes) vs. Clarifiers?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2006, 01:26:48 pm »
I have a Zorbo as well--remember to give that a good hosing when you are hosing your filters.  BIG difference in the new Zorbo as compared to the one I have had in since July.  I have never tried a scum ball, so I don't know how they compare.

I just checked my chems--My bottle of Enzyme is almost gone.  I used most of it up when the tub was new and everyone was in and out.  (Your situation now)  I haven't used it in a long time now.