What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Two Questions Before We Buy...  (Read 5416 times)

TucsonTub

Two Questions Before We Buy...
« on: October 21, 2006, 05:43:50 pm »
I'm a newbie with two questions to answer before my wife and I buy a spa.

1) Any general comments about either of my brand/model choices (Coleman 461 or Baja Spas PXS-1044)? We like the PXS-1044 because of it's design, energy efficiency and "sealed" filtration system. But if this "sealed" system is so good, why don't other manufacturers also use it?

2) Any comments about the "Soft-Soak" chemical treatment system from SpaGuard. It's touted as a "Bromine-free and Chlorine-free" spa care system. My wife has very dry skin and is sensitive to typical pool/spa chemicals. The "Soft-Soak" is offered through the Coleman dealer while the Baja Spas sales associate recommended a "low level" Bromine or Chlorine system.

Thanks...

Hot Tub Forum

Two Questions Before We Buy...
« on: October 21, 2006, 05:43:50 pm »

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
Re: Two Questions Before We Buy...
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2006, 06:04:45 pm »
Coleman seems to make a good spa based on peoples comments here and I don't see much of Baja - that doesn't make it a bad spa though. As far as sealed, I guess it's pressurized and most spas don't do it that way any more it seems, the others that I know of is Emerals Spas and Hydropool. It's more like a pool's filter. The only comment that I've read is the pumps could get stuff stuck in them (hair and other debris).

Soft soak is an expensive alternative to chlorine and bromine. Some people love it, some don't. I had a friend who used it for about a year but switched to bromine. It seems to be fussy where it can get "bad" more easily than bromine or chlorine.

As far as using chlorine, some of us use the chlorine after soaking approach and feel we have a safe tub. The advantage of this is soaking without too much chlorine residue.