What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Ozone and hot tubs - some basics.  Part 1 - long!  (Read 7095 times)

Vermonter

• Patriots!!!!!!!
Ozone and hot tubs - some basics.  Part 1 - long!
« on: July 31, 2006, 09:23:17 am »
I have followed, with interest, a few of the recent threads that deal with the general subject of "ozone".

I guess it is appropriate for my first post on this forum to focus on ozone - a topic that I have nearly 30 years of experience with ranging from 3 million gallon per day high purity water systems (semiconductor) to drinking water systems many  times that size to table-top carafes treating a liter at a time to hot tubs.  Regarding hot tubs, one of my first posts on the rhtubs.com site concerned ozone - and, over the years, there have been several dozen on that site that followed that original post.

For this post, I wanted to not get into specific applications of ozone to hot tubs; what brand does or doesn't have a contactor, etc.  Rather, I thought I would go through the basics of ozone - both as an oxidizer and as a sanitizer / disinfectant.

I should say that the following represents my opinion - backed by a considerable amount of experience and actual testing of ozone in hot tubs.

General:

First, ozone, like chlorine and bromine, is both an oxidizer and a sanitizer / disinfectant.  Ozone functions first as an oxidant and secondarily as a sanitizer (I will use the term sanitizer vs. disinfectant; while ozone is a disinfectant, its use, in hot tubs, would, under optimum conditions, function as a sanitizer).

Ozone as an Oxidizer: