What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: chemistry mysteries  (Read 3538 times)

anne

chemistry mysteries
« on: April 02, 2006, 09:02:06 pm »
OK, so I found that my water so far has been super easy to manage. Out of the tap the pH and TA are low, but both come into a good range with 6tbsp bicarb, and seem to stay pretty stable. I'm happy with my chlorine routine, though I'm still new at shocking and knowing how often to, I'll work that out. I have seen the variety of how often people do that; for me it'll probably be once weekly.

Here's my current issue: how do I test water hardness? Can i do it at home? I'm pretty sure my calcium levels would be high, as the water is a bit hard in Sacramento. Is this a value that will change much once other chem values are stable?

Dance like nobody's watching

Hot Tub Forum

chemistry mysteries
« on: April 02, 2006, 09:02:06 pm »

hottub.pool_boy

• New England's oldest HotSpring Dealer- 1983
Re: chemistry mysteries
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2006, 09:54:19 pm »
calcium only changes when adding or losing water. you do not lose calcium to evaporation.
Harder water foams less, which what we want.
Get some five-way test strips. There is some more to know, but that's the jist of it.
OEM HotSpring Stuff & SpaGuard Chemicals Online

Steve

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2006, 11:08:46 pm »
I agree with pool_boy. It's easy to test for and the only way to treat higher calcium readings is by increasing your weekly stain and scale control or by adding softer water to reach the 150-250ppm of calcium hardness.

Steve

Gomboman

• My Pride and Joy
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2006, 12:10:11 am »
If you don't have a Taylor test kit try your local spa or pool supply store. Do you have a Leslie's nearby? They should be able to test your water for you and give you exact readings.
2005 Hot Spring Envoy still going strong. Million-Mile Club....

I want to get in the spa business so I can surf the internet and use Photoshop all day long.

anne