What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: spa Frog system run away?  (Read 13030 times)

Rosebud

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
spa Frog system run away?
« on: January 20, 2006, 01:20:20 am »
Ok, I am new to the tub...two months of ownership...I just put in a new spa frog bromine cartridge this Monday in my marquis epic with in line system (my third 3rd ish cartridge since purchase). They seem to last about 2-3 weeks max, I test water daily with the strips. I set the frog at setting number 3 and I do shock weekly....bam I have very high bromine (max out strip and you can smell it). I turned the cartridge down to number one, cut the clean cycle down to 3 hrs twice a day...and still two days latter very high bromine, I took the cartridge out today, it appears to be just kinda low on material or just about empty (only four days total) is it possible that it is a defective cartridge? Should I not shock the tub this week? Should I just leave a cartridge out of the system a couple days until Bromine levels reduce? Can I refill these cartridges with granular bromine (I see the top pops off the top of the cartridge and you remove the spacer)...hope the experts responds soon...I have some hot guys coming over this weekend!

Hot Tub Forum

spa Frog system run away?
« on: January 20, 2006, 01:20:20 am »

stuart

• Ultimate Member
  • Big hairy guys need hottubs too...
Re: spa Frog system run away?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2006, 02:34:00 am »
Yes you could have had a defective cartridge...I will give them a call in the morning and see what advice I can find. Leave your cover open for a couple of hours and run the jets. If you have MPS (shock) without Chlorine you might also throw in some of that at the same time.

Bonibelle

• Global Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • '05 Marquis Epic
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2006, 08:06:45 am »