What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Full Foam versus Perimeter Insulation  (Read 16514 times)

gm

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Full Foam versus Perimeter Insulation
« on: October 19, 2005, 01:21:39 am »
This is my first time on this website and I would like to know about the pros and cons of Full Foam versus Perimeter Insulation in tub construction.  I am in the market for a new tub.  The tub I have is 20 years old and is ready for replacement.  I have been looking at an Arctic Spa and I am not sure about their claims for using less power to heat, but I do like the idea of being able to access all areas of the underside without the foam interference.  They also use much heavier fibreglass and have a much better designed spa cover.  The other spa that I am looking at is a Pacific spa.  This unit is fully foamed and appears to be a solid unit though it doesn't quite meet up to the Arctic in features etc.  The Pacific tub is considerably less expensive than the Arctic.  Both these tubs are manufactured in Canada.

Hot Tub Forum

Full Foam versus Perimeter Insulation
« on: October 19, 2005, 01:21:39 am »

Spatech_tuo

• Mentor Level Member
Re: Full Foam versus Perimeter Insulation
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2005, 01:40:14 am »
I have been looking at an Arctic Spa and I am not sure about their claims for using less power to heat, but I do like the idea of being able to access all areas of the underside without the foam interference.  

I question any claims of superiority also. At the same time, if you like their spa, buy it. I may be more of a full foam guy but a themopane spa can be energy efficient as well if it's well made and Arctic has some happy customers here that you can confer with. I haven't heard of Pacific spas so maybe one our northern members can comment on them.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2005, 10:04:26 am by Spatech_tuo »
220, 221, whatever it takes!

gm

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2005, 02:07:31 am »
Thanks.