What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Help with HotSprings, Marquis, D1, Jacuzzi  (Read 5008 times)

jdheffer

Help with HotSprings, Marquis, D1, Jacuzzi
« on: October 06, 2005, 11:52:03 pm »
This is my first post, but I have been reading this forum for weeks now.  I think this is a great forum and I appreciate all the great advice.

I have been researching hot tubs for about 2 months now.  I have visited all the local stores, researched the internet, read all the pretty brochures, etc.

I was amazed to find out how many different manufacturers there are out there.  I was also amazed to find out that everyone says that their hot tub is the best.  It's funny to hear them all contradict each other.

My wife and I are planning on wet testing our top spas next week.  If I have learned anything from this forum, it is make your decision based on the wet test.  That is assuming you are testing a decent tub and are working with a good dealer.  I think I am looking at the better tubs, but I still would appreciate any opinions about whose is better and why.  As for the dealers, the four I am working with have all been in town for 20+ years.

My fear is that I will wet test them and like most of them.  I have never owned a hot tub before, but have sat in a few, but only for recreation.  

I am interested in a tub for therapy first and entertaining second.  I have neck and lower back problems.  We want a tub that seats 6 comfortably.  We are open to a lounger, but prefer one without unless the lounger tub is still comfortable with 6 people.  My wife is 5' tall and weighs about 97 pounds, so I fear not many loungers will work.

Anyway, here are the tubs we are looking at:  HotSprings Grandee, Marquis Destiny/Epic, D1 Nautilus/Californian, Jacuzzi 385.

I have NOT tried to negotiate any prices yet.  I figure I won't try this until I wet test and get serious about 1 or 2.  Initial price quotes were $9,000 for all except the Jacuzzi, it was $7,500.