What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Arctic filtration  (Read 8195 times)

stl-rex

• Arctic Tundra Owner
Arctic filtration
« on: August 24, 2005, 12:21:24 am »
Unless I missed something, Arctic uses a single MicroPure filter that they claim goes to 1 micron with an effective area of 900 sqft achieved because it is roll and not a single or even low number multi layer pleat.  Equating a spa filtration system to a home air purifier, you pass air through a carbon filter to catch macro particles (Dust, hair etc) and then a hepa for purification.  Some spas employ a similar system where a macro filter catches fine debris and then one or more filters actually do the purification.  Did I miss something or did Arctic eliminate that macro filter?  For those who own, doesn't it have the potential to clog the Micropure Cartridge which could require frequent moderately expensive filter changes?  

As you can see, I'm a newb, but am carefully examining all my options and evalutaing strengths and weaknesses of potential spas.

For those who have, how many hours a day do you have yours filter on average?  Do you use Cl or Br and do you use the floating dispenser? I wonder if it's only filtering 4 hours a day or so if the standard ozone is effective.  God I hate to open the ozone debate.

I can't open the manuals on the internet.  If you have standard ozone does it imply you can keep the Cl or Br levels lower?

Please don't hijack this topic with FF vs TP stuff.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2005, 09:08:28 am by rexspent »

Hot Tub Forum

Arctic filtration
« on: August 24, 2005, 12:21:24 am »

Tman122

• Ultimate Member
  • If it Ain't Broke
Re: Arctic filtration
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2005, 06:30:10 am »