What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Water Questions  (Read 5874 times)

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
Water Questions
« on: July 18, 2005, 09:41:34 pm »
Although I do understand water chemistry and how it all interacts via my pool - hot water is a different experience!

First I will say that the tub is a month old, so I am about ready to proclaim Chas' law. Also, I do use the Vermonter's way of dosing and I'm using dichlor with my ozonator running 8 hours a day.

As a hot water newbie I was doing good until Friday, now it's a mess.

I had company here on Friday and about 8 or 9 people were in the tub. When I got home from work, I noticed the water was a little hazy so I used the shock dose on Friday night of Spa Essentials Spa Shock Xtra - it has dichlor with I guess some MPS with in it. The water looked great Sat morning except my combined chlorine was reading 3 PPM!

Thinking that this is a correct reading and knowing 7x that would be an awful lot of chlorine, I added a shock dose of MPS. I was busy for the rest of Sat and all day Sun but I figured that the tub was safe since it was "doubled shocked"

Now the dilemma - I opened the tub tonight to find a mess! It's cloudy and I have foam all over. I immediately shocked it with a little more than 3 tablespoons of dichlor.

Thinking on what I've read, I remember - 'let the tub breathe' - so I turned on the jets and air injectors - FOAM!! OK, put in some enzymes for the foam, of course thinking that the chlorine will eat up the enzymes, doesn't seem to work.

Go on line, read through posts here - could be low PH and alkalinity - test, it is low, so add baking soda to bring it up.

So  - I can drain and refill - not a problem but how to deal with heavy bather loads? I was doing good with 4,5 or 6 people but Friday just blew my water away!

What could I have done to prevent it?

Thanks!

Hot Tub Forum

Water Questions
« on: July 18, 2005, 09:41:34 pm »

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
Re: Water Questions