What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Whats in your chemical arsenal?  (Read 4275 times)

Gary1911

• Master Spa LSX!
Whats in your chemical arsenal?
« on: July 03, 2005, 07:51:10 am »
Just want to get a feel for what you keep on hand at all times. Obviously chlorine/Bromine................what else should I have ????????????

Gary
« Last Edit: July 03, 2005, 10:15:39 am by Gary1911 »

Hot Tub Forum

Whats in your chemical arsenal?
« on: July 03, 2005, 07:51:10 am »

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
Re: Whats in you chemical arsenal?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2005, 08:14:49 am »
Well I'm a newbie myself in spa chemistry but here's what I'm thinking.

The dealer gave me a bottle of Alkalinity increaser but you can use baking soda. She claimed it would raise PH and it did to a point then stopped. I use borax for the pool and used that and it seemed to work, otherwise use PH up. For lowering PH you can use PH down or muriatic acid (this is some nasty stuff), it will also work on lowering Alkalinity.

She also gave me a bottle of Calcium increaser,  some people believe in calcium some don't. I believe it's part of balanced water.

I  had a brown scum line and used Spa Perfect enzymes and it seemed to work.

My water turned green after being in the tub a while so by reading I assume (though not 100% sure) it's metal in the water.

Also, bought some MPS as "shock" and will use the dealer's bottle of shock (has dichlor and something else in it) until it's gone. I plan on alternating shocking with dichlor and MPS, unless the family has a problem with MPS.

Gary1911

• Master Spa LSX!
Re: Whats in you chemical arsenal?
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2005, 08:21:19 am »
Thanks Vinny :)

windsurfdog

• Loving this cool weather....
Re: Whats in your chemical arsenal?
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2005, 08:31:19 am »
Gar-Gar,
Here's my list:
Dichlor--spare the dichlor, spoil the tub--used for shock as well at times
MPS--used for shock most times
Sodium carbonate--raise pH