What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: PLEASE HELP! Caldera Seychelles (FreshWater Salt System)...  (Read 2253 times)

cstew74

I will try to make this as short as possible. Please bear with me.
I purchased the Caldera Seychelles hot tub last June 2019. Delivery was smooth and the owner was here and helped set the tub up and helped with initial fill (obviously, being a rookie, I didn't know anything in regards to hot tub chemicals at this point).

Filled the tub, added chemicals, balanced pH, salt, etc (although I really don't think this was initially done correctly or done in the correct order). Regardless, it was setup and we began to use it........this is where the issues start......

After about a week, no chlorine residuals were showing up, and water started to become cloudy. Also started to get lots of foam (no soaps in clothes, we hand washed and used the same clothes). After about a week or so, I called them and asked what to do. Was told to add 1C of bleach for 5 days to boost the Chlorine residuals. I did that and chlorine would stay in the tub for a while, but slowly go way and put me back at square one.

I have done everything imaginable to get this salt system to kick in and work correctly without any maintenance. I have checked the chemicals on this hot tub at least every other day for a straight year and i'm fed up with the salt system (i don't use test strips, but actually use a test kit to check for Cl, pH, TA, etc)

I have drained and refilled at least 5 times and I have meticulously followed Caldera's setup directions. (I have also used other forum posts suggestions on how they set theirs up.....to no avail.) I have read other users issues with the salt water system and they also have a lot of the same issues as me. Just seems the salt water system doesn't work quite well with hot water....i dunno.