What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: My spa shopping experience  (Read 3525 times)

KC-SWO

• Waiting for my new deck, Dreaming of my BC 750
My spa shopping experience
« on: September 10, 2004, 12:32:02 pm »
Hello everyone,

My wife and I have been shopping for a spa for 2 months now.  We bought a new house, and finally
have a really good spot to put one, plus we want
to spoil ourselves a bit.  Who doesn't?

I have been browsing this site for a while, without
posting, and must say there is a wealth of info here.

We have looked at many spa dealers, and wet tested
Cal Spas, Coleman, Coast, Emerald, and Beachcomber.
Sorry I do not remember all the model numbers, but
we tested at least 2 of each.
Sundance, Marquis and Jacuzzi are not sold within
100 miles of where we live, so they were not tested.

One comment I would like to make is that I do not think
that the spa dealers take my wife and I seriously when
we are shopping for a spa.  We are both in our
mid-twenties, and it is as if they don't believe that we
will buy a good tub.  The prices the dealers list are
at least 2-3+ thousand more than prices discussed here,
with the dealers not wanting to haggle at all.

I think we have decided on Beachcomber for our spa.
We were most impressed by our Beachcomber dealer,
and with their tubs.  We liked the simple style, and
yet design thought that went into the design of the
BC tubs.  Very few gimics, and solid construction.

It also helps that 5 of the 6 people that I know that
own tubs, own BCs and love them.
We are strongly leaning towards a 750 as it is the first
tub that both my wife, and I have really liked.
We are trying to decide on what options.
(Man, the stereo is expensive.)

My one concern is how difficult is if going to be to setup
the tub, and get used to the maintenance schedule?
My BC dealer is 75 miles away.  I can't rely on them for
regular water testing.  The water at my house is from
a well, if that matters.