What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: TA and pH woes  (Read 3811 times)

dmcmillen

TA and pH woes
« on: June 08, 2016, 01:49:44 pm »
I'm new to hot tubs, having taken delivery of my Bullfrog A7 less than two weeks ago. I'm sure a lot of other new folks have issues with chemistry balance at first, but I've been pretty frustrated.

The issue is I'm having a really hard time getting TA and pH balanced. Out of the faucet, my test strips read a TA of about 0-20 and a pH of 6.8. I added the recommended amount to bring TA up to around 120 which was successful. However, it made my pH shoot up to 8.4 (and I suspect higher, but that's how far my test strips go). I decided to let it sit to see if it would balance out.

Within a couple days I started seeing a thick, chalky white line forming around the water line. I attempted to lower the pH with pH down, but it only seemed to bring the TA down. Once I hit 40 TA the pH was still 8.4 (or higher), so I tried once more to raise the TA but the result was the same (normal TA, high or very high pH). The chalky white line was getting worse, so last night I drained, cleaned the white lines (diluted vinegar solution), rinsed and refilled the tub.

Also I have Spa Frog and was having a hard time keeping the bromine up. I suspected this was due to high pH. I've ruled out the test strips, I bought some AquaChek and they read about the same as the Spa Frog test strips.

As of this morning I'm now back to a fresh fill that I have heated but otherwise not touched (TA 0-20, pH 6.8 ). Does anyone have any suggestions to assist me in doing this correctly?

Thank you!
« Last Edit: June 09, 2016, 05:53:21 am by dmcmillen »

Hot Tub Forum

TA and pH woes
« on: June 08, 2016, 01:49:44 pm »

bud16415

Re: TA and pH woes
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2016, 02:45:31 pm »
Are you starting out with the bromine boast pack?

I fought with bromine for 6 months and eventually switched to chlorine. I had the inline frog system and my numbers were up and down.