What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Chemical Strategy for Someone Who Travels a Lot?  (Read 4530 times)

FL Person

Chemical Strategy for Someone Who Travels a Lot?
« on: June 02, 2016, 06:32:26 pm »
After a way-too-long construction process, my patio is finally ready and my new Bullfrog R6 is being delivered tomorrow.  This is my fist spa.  I travel for a living, typically 8 days to two weeks at a time.  But sometimes for up to a month or more.  When I'm gone, there is no one in my home.  And I sometimes don't don't know exactly how long I'll be gone  (e.g - thought I'd be gone two weeks but ends up being six).

Obviously, this will be problematic with regard to maintaining the water.  But it's the reality of the situation and I'll have to find a way to make it work.   If I know for sure I'll be gone for three weeks or more, I'll probably drain the spa.  But for the shorter periods, I'm looking for some guidance on how best to prepare the water both before departing and after I return?

Thanks.

FL Person

Hot Tub Forum

Chemical Strategy for Someone Who Travels a Lot?
« on: June 02, 2016, 06:32:26 pm »

Jacuzzi Jim

• Ultimate Member
Re: Chemical Strategy for Someone Who Travels a Lot?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2016, 06:48:55 pm »
 I would consider a bromine floater at that point.   Keep it set low, use a bubble blanket and remove your pillows before leaving.  Set the temp at 80 or lower. 

FL Person

« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2016, 09:07:23 am »
I would consider a bromine floater at that point.   Keep it set low, use a bubble blanket and remove your pillows before leaving.  Set the temp at 80 or lower.

The spa salesman initially recommended a simple maintenance strategy of adding a cup of bleach per day and adding vinegar when necessary to lower the PH.  But some quick research indicates bleach (chlorine) and Bromine don't play nice together.