What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Hardness problem  (Read 3107 times)

COWBOY

Hardness problem
« on: March 10, 2009, 04:38:13 pm »
I am still pretty new to spa water control but feel i have a fairly good handle on everything on my test strip except hardness. I know that my city water is a little hard but i did not think in any way excesive. What do i need to do to bring this reading down that has always been at the highest level possible since using my current test strips.

Hot Tub Forum

Hardness problem
« on: March 10, 2009, 04:38:13 pm »

Chas

• Mentor Level Member
  • Hot water is Cool.
    • Spas etc.
Re: Hardness problem
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2009, 10:41:48 am »
The only way to bring down the hardness would be a water softener. You do not want to fill your tub with soft water, but if you have a softener you can use soft water to top the tub off as evaporation and splashing takes water out.

If you don't have a softener I wouldn't worry about it unless you start to have a real bad hard water line.

Keeping your pH and TA in line are far more important than hardness.

BTW - just so you know, low hardness causes foaming. Filling a tub with soft water can take out important metal parts such as shaft seals and heating elements.

8-)
Former HotSpring Dealer - Southern Cal.

COWBOY

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2009, 11:12:39 am »
What's best for the tub itself is my main concern. I just thought if there was something i could add to make my skin less dry & itchy after getting out would be nice without compromising whats best for the tub.

Chas

• Mentor Level Member
  • Hot water is Cool.
    • Spas etc.
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2009, 11:18:18 am »