What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Chemical maintence and other stuff  (Read 4211 times)

kacrab10

• 2004 Sundance Optima
Chemical maintence and other stuff
« on: June 08, 2008, 05:32:34 pm »
Sorry to be asking yet another chemical question but without buying from a dealer (which I tried to convince my hubby) I want to do this right.  I am going to say that we will use dichlor so someone take me from the begining on what to do for startup and daily maintence (or should I go see a dealer locally)?  It's okay to be honest.

Next, why is maintaining a spa/hottub different then a pool?  

Third and last, if you keep your chemicals close what do you keep them in or do you run back into the house after use to shock?  I'm sure moisture would be an issue.

Thanks everyone! :-/

Hot Tub Forum

Chemical maintence and other stuff
« on: June 08, 2008, 05:32:34 pm »

benalexe

Re: Chemical maintence and other stuff
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2008, 05:55:46 pm »
I am new to this as well so I am still trying to learn.  My spa has a checmical compartment wiht a lock on it right next to the spa so that party is easy.

In terms of the difference between a pool.  So many.  First off a spa is about 500 gallons a pool is 25,000 gallons.  So one person can cloud up your water.  

For example today I had 4 kids in . When they got out it was very cloudy.  I am still trying to learn best practices on this stuff.

If you have laundry detergent on your clothes that is left over, it will effect the water.

Also realize the water is much hotter than a pool and often kept in the dark so it is a completely different breeding ground for stuff.  In addition when someone is in the tub they sweat their deorderant affects the water their shampoo, perfume etc.  Remember a small body of water with often a lot of people.  Don't think too much about it or it will gross you out.