What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Cleaning Tri-X Filters  (Read 8016 times)

Gomboman

• My Pride and Joy
Cleaning Tri-X Filters
« on: October 19, 2007, 12:47:49 pm »
It's hard to believe but I've had my Envoy for two years now. I've never used any type of filter cleaner before--just water. I usually clean the filters with a high pressure washer. I've also used the dish washer a few times. They always come out pearly white.

Anyway, I'm sure it's time to use an actual filter cleaner this time. There are a ton of different cleaners out there. What type of cleaner and method do you prefer that will be compatible with my Tri-X filters? I don't have any spare filters.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2007, 12:49:19 pm by Gomboman »
2005 Hot Spring Envoy still going strong. Million-Mile Club....

I want to get in the spa business so I can surf the internet and use Photoshop all day long.

Hot Tub Forum

Cleaning Tri-X Filters
« on: October 19, 2007, 12:47:49 pm »

Brookenstein

Re: Cleaning Tri-X Filters
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2007, 12:52:45 pm »
I've soaked the one filter on the circ pump once, but the mixture ate a whole out of my 5 lb bucket and leaked all over... so I never used it again on the other filers.  I use the spray on filter cleaner every 3-6 months or so.  I should probably buy another bucket and try the soak method again, but...

I use whatever brand came with my tub... but I did just by some spray on cleaner from doc.  If he's got more than one brand I bought whatever was cheapest.

hottubdan

• Ultimate Member
  • In the spa business for over 20 years.
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2007, 02:42:34 pm »
Our customers use the Freshwater brand which we get from Hot Spring.
Award winning Hot Spring dealer for a gazillion years.

The_real_Clown_Shoes

• Hot Spring Salesman since '05.
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2007, 06:40:19 pm »
I like the Freshwater granular filter cleaner.

Gomboman

• My Pride and Joy
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2007, 07:19:56 pm »