What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Chemical Brands-Is there a difference?  (Read 2423 times)

DrOperations

• Royal Spa Emperor II
Chemical Brands-Is there a difference?
« on: January 15, 2007, 09:10:24 pm »
Yes, I'm still a newbie.  But, I have been researching the popular spa chemical brands and wonder if anyone has discovered any differences in the Leisure Time and GLB/Rendezvous chemicals?  I think they are both manufactured by Advantis in Georgia.  I have found locally and online that the GLB chems are about 10-15% lower in price than the Leisure Time for the same product/size.

Does anyone have a preference or can shed any light on this?  Is this a case of the same product in different packages?

Any comments are greatly appreciated!

Hot Tub Forum

Chemical Brands-Is there a difference?
« on: January 15, 2007, 09:10:24 pm »

hottubdan

• Ultimate Member
  • In the spa business for over 20 years.
Re: Chemical Brands-Is there a difference?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2007, 09:47:40 pm »
They are the same if you are comparing like products.  Each has a few specialty items that are unique.
Award winning Hot Spring dealer for a gazillion years.

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2007, 09:58:41 pm »
Here's a mind blower ... some chems are available at the supermarket!

Alkalinity up is baking soda. $1.00 for 2 lbs.

Dichlor is dichlor - regardless of brand as long as you're looking at the available chlorine. It comes in strengths of 52% to 62%, not to be confused with the active ingredient which most dichlor is 99%.

If you can buy pool quanities, you can get some chems really cheap. I bought 15 lbs of calcium hardness from Leslies pool supplies. It was way cheaper than spa supply amounts.

Buy the brand that costs you the least - Doc has some great prices ... 5 lbs of dichlor for around $30, some places sell 2 lbs for $15 or $16.

Brewman

• Ultimate Member
  • Lead me not into temptation- I can find it myself!