What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Daily Shock Treatment? - Newbie needs help!  (Read 2590 times)

Mr. Dutch

Daily Shock Treatment? - Newbie needs help!
« on: November 28, 2006, 12:46:08 pm »
Hi Everyone!  Since my last posting on Sunday night, I am pleased to report that we have had a winter storm that has left me stranded in my home for two days.  We have also had to cancel school  for two days due to single digit temperatures, wind, and snow drifts!  This has left me without much choice but to soak in my new Jetsetter excessively and to drink too much boxed wine!   (No, not franzia - I only drink the good stuff.)

Now, to my question.  My dealer told me to add 1 tablespoon per user of MPS 10 minutes before every use.  Does this seem excessive?  My test strips seem ok, but I am new to all this.  I have not added anything else since I dumped in the specific amounts of other additives the dealer suggested after testing my water.  My skin is a bit sensitive (my back has been a touch itchy after using the tub), so I would prefer to use less chemicals than more.  Your thoughts would be appreciated.  Salutations from the frozen North!

Mr. Dutch

Hot Tub Forum

Daily Shock Treatment? - Newbie needs help!
« on: November 28, 2006, 12:46:08 pm »

tonyp

• Soaking in a HS Envoy!
Re: Daily Shock Treatment? - Newbie needs help!
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2006, 12:56:40 pm »
I assume that you are using N2 or the HS equivalent with ozone.

I add 2 tbs of MPS in my Envoy before (or during) each use along with a weekly dichlor shock.  System has worked fine for me for over 2 years now.

I have itchiness after not using the tub for a while.  I've always attributed it to the jet action rather then the chemicals since it's not there with the jets off.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2006, 01:00:05 pm by tonyp »

Mr. Dutch

« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2006, 01:00:32 pm »
Yes, I am using the HotSpring MPS Chlorine-Free Oxidizer.

hottubdan

• Ultimate Member