What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Salt Chlorine Generators  (Read 2743 times)

mountainspa

Salt Chlorine Generators
« on: July 14, 2005, 11:42:53 am »
Hi...I'm new here,  however, I've been lurking and gleaning lots of great info from the site for a month or so.   I've been in the pool and spa industry for ten years and have just recently (five weeks)  opened my own spa showroom in north Georgia.

My question:  Does anyone have any experience with a salt chlorine generator on a spa?  I have a customer who wants a system on his spa, but I have no experience with them.   I've installed and worked on pools with salt generators, but not on spas.  I'm looking to install the Eco-matic from Balboa Direct.  Is there a better brand out there I just don't know about?  Any advice?

Ward

Hot Tub Forum

Salt Chlorine Generators
« on: July 14, 2005, 11:42:53 am »

Lori

• Saw It ... Wanted It ... Had A Fit ... Got It!
Re: Salt Chlorine Generators
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2005, 05:42:49 pm »
I can't help, just a consumer here!

Just wanted to say Welcome to the board!
Oklahoma Vanguard owner-don't hold that against me

HotTubMan

• My 2.1 cents, eh
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2005, 05:51:14 pm »
I am sure Balboa has done a lot of research, but I am skeptical about salt and hot tubs.

For years chemical and hot tub manufacturers have been warning people not to use softened water in spas because:
a) the low calcium levels make the water aggresive
b) the salt content of the softened water would be hard on components, especially heaters and jet bearings.

Now we are going to put in water with salt levels much higher than that and have no problems.....I am going to wait and see......
« Last Edit: July 14, 2005, 05:51:57 pm by HotTubMan »
Homeworks Financing Representative

spahappy

• Mind body and soul therapy right in my backyard.
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2005, 07:20:24 pm »
Yes I have first hand experience with salt generator systems.