What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Slab saga  (Read 9842 times)

doodoo

• Sundance Optima Owner - and lovin' it
Re: Slab saga
« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2005, 10:36:47 am »
Don't take any cr**p from a contractor. I work in the housing industry and believe me when I say that the last thing you want is someone with attitude. The construction market as a whole has been on fire the past 4 years, and those that excell at what they do are polite and professional. They will tell you when they will undertake the work with an accurate quote based on sound knowledge with an addition in language based on the unknown like what is in the ground which cannot be seen. But consult you should that change to get your consent.

I would cancel the first contractor and get the other one who seems much more professional to come and do the work.  Take the extra time as the work will be much better.

I once saw a crew pour a slab without rebar and without anchoring it to the footing. when I inquired about it their answer was,

not my house
the inspector wont see it
boss is'nt here to tell us what to do
this is the way we all do our slabs (scary)

and my personal fav - who the f*** are you?
My answer, I work for the federal government and you are working on a federal building (military housing) and you are in deep s***.  

That smart mouth started shaking a little when the MP's arrived. That was for show. Public works made the contractor shake when they got together to review their work to date. That was a costly flip of the mouth for him that day. Many slabs had to be jack hammered out to be re-done.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2005, 10:39:44 am by doodoo »

Hot Tub Forum

« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2005, 10:36:47 am »

Drewski

• Artesian Piper Glen since 1999 in Beachtown, USA
« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2005, 12:23:16 pm »
Doodoo is RIGHT on the money about contractors!