What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: D-1 Purchase VS Caldera  (Read 4241 times)

DO-DAD

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
D-1 Purchase VS Caldera
« on: April 23, 2005, 11:31:54 pm »
I am a newbie to this site and I am considering my first hot tub purchase. My 10 year old daughter has just been diagnosed with a very rare muscular disease and we have so far narrowed our choices to either a D-1 Chairman II (or the new Californian) or the Caldera Geneva for the therapeutic massage capabilities.  We really like the adjustable neck massage pillows and the lifetime shell warranty on the Chairman II, but my wife and daughter also like the waterfalls and lighting systems on the other models.  So, here are my concerns and I would really appreciate everyone's feedback!

1. I like the Ultra-Pure Water Management System on the D-1 and the rep showed me a chemical system where a small amount of liquid chemical is added to the water once a week (which seems easier to use than the chlorine and bromine systems.) Can anyone shed some insight on this system for me?  Can this patented system only be used with the D-1 models or can it be used with any other models?  The rep also claimed that the water would not have to be changed as often with this system (UltraPure, Visio Cartridge & chemical system.)  Any information on this?
2. While I must admit that the lights and waterfalls on the Caldera Geneva look nice, are there really any benefits to having these features in a hot tub?
3. So far, my daughter has been the only one that has wet tested many of the available models that we have looked at.  I hope to be able to arrange an after hours wet test at each dealership for all of us, so that we can all make an informed decision.  So far, the D-1 Californian model has not been available to see at the dealership.  Any suggestions for these models?