What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: used spa  (Read 2488 times)

robert

used spa
« on: March 25, 2005, 01:19:33 am »
My neighbor has a used cal spa for $400. I dont know the year , but it still works( heater, pump,controls) and the tub itself looks good. The only problem is the wood surround is falling apart and needs to be replaced. I am a carpenter and can build a new one though. The only markings I could see  is a large CAL embossed  in the tub center.      Any advice?

Hot Tub Forum

used spa
« on: March 25, 2005, 01:19:33 am »

fletch49

Re: used spa
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2005, 08:46:17 am »
$400, and it doesn't leak, it turns on and off and it has heat? Giddy up! I wouldn't put it inside, it's bound to leak in the very near future.  I wouldn't spend much money fixing it up either.

New tubs run around 5-10k and up, so if your not really in the market for a new tub, but wouldn't mind sitting in hot water and having a drink....go for it.

Make sure it's safe. I'd look for a UL or ETL rating on it, and make sure old neighbour hasn't taken it upon himself to rewire the tub or something like that.  

robert

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2005, 11:25:50 am »
Thanks SPAZZ, I think I will take a chance on it.
I will post my "fun" with it.

hottubber

• Hottubbing under the stars...PRICELE SS
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2005, 11:41:30 am »
I think that for $400. you can't go wrong. Make sure you have a chainsaw for when you are ready to dispose of it. Look at it this way, you say it runs, heats and holds water,...and it's a Cal Spa? :P
Regardless of the brand, I would move forward with it. When you get serious about buying a new one, you will know what you want.
ggod luck...

Chas

• Mentor Level Member
  • Hot water is Cool.
    • Spas etc.
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2005, 11:32:37 am »
Go for it, and take lots of pictures.

Is it insulated? Key question.