What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Odors?  (Read 7937 times)

Lori

• Saw It ... Wanted It ... Had A Fit ... Got It!
Re: Odors?
« Reply #15 on: January 05, 2005, 07:26:33 pm »
Yes they do.  I use baking soda.  Just an oz at a time until I get the TA within range.  It has worked for me.
Oklahoma Vanguard owner-don't hold that against me

Hot Tub Forum

« Reply #15 on: January 05, 2005, 07:26:33 pm »

nicker

« Reply #16 on: January 05, 2005, 07:30:02 pm »
I have had the smell recently too, smells like sour milk.

Anyway its because your chemicals are out, as you have found out.   It will tell you on the product how much to add depending on how low your levels levels are.  Your dealer should have mentioned what you have an what it is fore.  I would add what you need and run the tub for a cycle and then re-test about an hour or so after that.   When I first got my tub I spent hours finding out about water chemistry (I am still learning lots).  I started testing my water every day until I felt more comfortable, now I check every other day.  Get in a routine with your tub..it makes it easy. I have everything on a calendar.  Filter changes, water change etc.

As for fill/drain.  Depends on use really.  I have heard some actually only change once a year unless they really have to.  I am leaning towards 4 times, maybe three.   I live in a cold climate so I want to avoid a winter change if possible.  I think if you have to start adding LOTS of chemicals to keep things in check its time for a water change.

I would stop into your dealer and see if somthing that knows a little more can show you what you should be doing with the chemicals.  My dealer outlined everything. And it wouldn't hurt to bring in a water sample for more in depth testing every so often.

Good luck.  It does get easier

ISHAYKU

• Go UConn!
« Reply #17 on: January 05, 2005, 09:30:44 pm »