What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Just got a hot tub.. is Spa Frog enough?  (Read 4330 times)

jw801

Just got a hot tub.. is Spa Frog enough?
« on: May 10, 2016, 07:42:50 pm »
Hi everyone! I just bought a house and the Jacuzzi J-465 hot tub came included. It has ClearRay UV filter, and we're adding an ozonator.

This is my first time owning a hot tub and I want our chemical use to be as low as possible. With the UV filter and ozonator running, I'm hoping that a low level of bromine will enough to keep the water clean.

I'm leaning toward using the floating Spa Frog system. Any thoughts?

Hot Tub Forum

Just got a hot tub.. is Spa Frog enough?
« on: May 10, 2016, 07:42:50 pm »

The Wizard of Spas

Re: Just got a hot tub.. is Spa Frog enough?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2016, 10:40:57 am »
I sell chlorine, bromine, Nature II (a Spa Frog contemporary) and @ease.  I've done most other sanitizers as well.  As long as you keep pH and alkalinity balanced, I've never been one to push a specific sanitizer.  I just tell ya the pros and cons of each and let you decide, as all water needs a sanitizer and its up to the user to make sure the water is treated and balanced at all times.

As far as ozone and filtration:  They are nice but they're merely assistants to the water treatment.  Ozone, nor filters, will not clean up green/cloudy water.  Thats all about water chemistry and the products used. 

Thus- Keep the pH and the alkalinity balanced and whatever sanitizer you choose make sure it has the desired amount of sanitizer in it at all times.  All other products aren't unnecessary, per se.  I just prefer to have the basics down and then if you need additional products, then I help my customers identify them based on whatever is going on in their water.  Im a "Less is More" guy:  Dont cut corners, but get the basics and if you need something else, get it.  If you don't then dont worry about it.

Make sense?  Good luck moving forward.

Tman122

• Ultimate Member