What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Spa Frog - Please Help  (Read 5550 times)

333president

Spa Frog - Please Help
« on: September 15, 2013, 03:48:53 pm »
Hey Guys,
Can you help me, I am a total newbie.

Last month I bought a Caldera Makena. It comes with the Frog Spa system (tubes that go in a slot).

My sanitizer level is constantly reading at 0.

I have the Bromine cartridge turned up to 6 (highest setting) and it's still reading 0/white on test strip (no pink).

I called the dealer who said I might have junked up my bromine cartridges because I used "Bright and Clear" which she said could cause the bromine to turn to solid instead of pellets. So I replaced the cartridges with a brand new one and it's still reading zero.

What should I do? Can/should I ditch the spa frog and start throwing in chlorine or bromine tabs into the slot where the Spa Frog should go? Or could I be doing something wrong? Does Bright and Clear really kill those cartridges?

Please help. Thanks guys.

Hot Tub Forum

Spa Frog - Please Help
« on: September 15, 2013, 03:48:53 pm »

Spoiledrotten

Re: Spa Frog - Please Help
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2013, 04:50:33 pm »
My bromine levels stay very low most of the time. I have the ozonator and have heard that the bromine levels will be low when using it. I have used MPS shock a tad on the strong side and have noticed that the bromine reading goes up slightly.
I'm pretty new myself, but I'd be tempted to call BS on the Bright and Clear causing trouble with the bromine.
"A bend in the road is not the end of the road... unless you fail to make the turn."

333president

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2013, 12:59:10 am »
Thanks for the reply. Yeah, I have the ozone too. Maybe that is what's causing the low sanitize level.

Does anyone know if I can throw bromine tabs in the spot where the Frog goes and just take out the Frog since it doesn't seem to be doing anything?

Spoiledrotten

« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2013, 08:21:25 am »