What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Nu-Wave Install Electric Issues (pics)  (Read 5991 times)

thunderbird

Nu-Wave Install Electric Issues (pics)
« on: February 16, 2010, 07:23:46 pm »
Hi,

New guy here. Ive trolled around and searched the forums fairly well I think and couldnt find the issue I am having. So Ill write it up best I can and really appreciate any help.

First off, I am no electrician. My neighbor had experience so he hooked up my power to the tub. I am using a '97 model Nu-Wave 240v system with a 1.5 hp pump and a 1 hp blower. This model has the GFCI built in. I know this is no longer legal and needs to be corrected, but Id like to make sure the system at least works before dumping a bunch of money into it.

Basically I have a 40 amp 2 pole breaker on my box. The white and bare cable going into the neutral and read and black cables going into the posts for the breaker. The wire is 8/3 (4 wire obviously) and ran through conduit to the tub about 50' away. Obviously the red hooks to red, black to black, white to white and bare to bare.

ISSUE is when I turn the spa controls on, all four lights on the front come on and stay on. Air switches seem to work fine. The light switch works fine... but the system will not power the pumps. The water pump has a funky looking end on it, but the blower had a regular 110 on it. I plugged it in to an outlet just to see if it worked and it did... but plugged into the system it does nothing.

I had the tub filled, water was in the lines. I called the service department for Nu-Wave and he said that all 4 lights on means one of the neutral lines had power going to it... I rechecked all the wiring and I see this as an impossibility. Please help, Ive included some pics, let me know anything you need from me and help me get in my tub!

Thanks for reading guys!

Hot Tub Forum

Nu-Wave Install Electric Issues (pics)
« on: February 16, 2010, 07:23:46 pm »

thunderbird

Re: Nu-Wave Install Electric Issues (pics)