What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Softguard chemical system?  (Read 3652 times)

lat61

Softguard chemical system?
« on: January 06, 2009, 12:47:37 pm »
I'm a newbie hot tub owner (Jacuzzi 335), and I am curious about the chemical maintenance system the dealer set us up with when we bought the tub.  It is called Softguard.  I've read some on this forum re chlorine vs. bromine, but this system appears to be neither.  If anyone us familiar with Softguard chemicals, what does it use to clean the water?  Any thoughts good or bad? No problems so far (that I can tell), but just curious.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2009, 02:30:47 am by lat61 »

Hot Tub Forum

Softguard chemical system?
« on: January 06, 2009, 12:47:37 pm »

hottubdan

• Ultimate Member
  • In the spa business for over 20 years.
Re: Softguard chemical system?
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2009, 01:20:10 pm »
Is it Soft Soak, by SpaGuard?
Award winning Hot Spring dealer for a gazillion years.

Vanguard

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2009, 05:10:49 pm »
It is a biguanide system.  Unless you want difficult water chemistry, I'd stay away from any biguanide system.  The chlorine system is the easiest and most reliable.
The stars at night are big and bright, deep in the heart of Texas and my Vanguard!!!

lat61

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2009, 02:20:56 am »
Yes, that's it -- Soft Soak by Softguard.    Why is it more difficult?  The dealer did give me a good information sheet on using the chemicals.