What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Calcium Hardness  (Read 3283 times)

dax

• '07 Sundance Cameo
Calcium Hardness
« on: July 13, 2007, 09:45:05 pm »
I'm a newbie when it comes to spa chemicals.  I've had my tub for two and a half weeks.  When we first filled it, on 06/27, we took a water sample to our dealer.  According to the analysis, our calcium hardness level was 273ppm.  Supposedly it's supposed to be between 200-400ppm.  Took another sample in on 07/06 and the calcium level was 257ppm.  Had it tested again today and it was 187ppm.  Their prinout suggested that I add Calcium Hardness Increaser.  When I got home to do so, I discovered that was not part of our chemical start-up kit so I need to run out tomorrow and buy some.

My question is, what causes the calcium level to drop?  We have an ozonator on the tub along with a complimentarty Nature 2 cartridge.  We shock with MPS after every use and use Dichlor Granular as our sanitizer.  Also, is there any way to test for calcium besides taking a sample to the dealer?  Thanks in advance.

Hot Tub Forum

Calcium Hardness
« on: July 13, 2007, 09:45:05 pm »

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
Re: Calcium Hardness
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2007, 10:01:29 pm »
First thing is unless you are topping off from splashed out water with soft water or the tap water calcium is fluctuating that much, calcium shouldn't decrease - it should be about the same. I don't know how the dealer is testing but if it by computer his calibration may be off.

Second, you can buy test kits to test for calcium, I always recommend the Taylor K-2005 kit - it will test all the water's parameters.