What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: How often should I clean my filter?  (Read 4523 times)

neocacher

How often should I clean my filter?
« on: December 27, 2006, 05:34:24 pm »
I have purchased a spare already, so that part is done.

i have been using tub 2-3 times a day for 2 weeks.  I removed the filter and there is some yellowing , but not too bad.

Should I degrease it now or wait another couple weeks until it is grungier?

Neo

Hot Tub Forum

How often should I clean my filter?
« on: December 27, 2006, 05:34:24 pm »

cparlf

Re: How often should I clean my filter?
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2006, 06:00:03 pm »
I am far from an expert, but willing to share what I do as I may learn if I am off the mark as well.  I have a Sundance Optima, there are two filters.  One, the 'microclean' I think it is called, I replace every few months and costs about 15 bucks.  The other is the normal big pleated pup.  I have two of these, one is the tub the other in a plastic bag in reserve.  To clean, I soak the pleated one in filter cleaner solution over night then rinse until the water company drives over and yells at me and Al Gore spot lights me on his enviro campaigns.  While this one is drying, I put the other pleated one in.  This is usually every two to three months, more often if high use.  In between I take out the pleated one and simply hose it off real good.  Amazing how much difference the hosing alone does.  You might want to try that first.

PotomacG

• What's so funny 'bout peace, love & understanding?
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2006, 06:08:05 pm »
You might want to check with the manufacturer.  If you don't have a manual, you might try checking their website.  

For my Tiger River, I swap out the filter each and every month at the beginning of the month.  This makes keeping track really easy.

If I'm having a really bad water problem (which I have not had since switching to bromine), I might swap it out more than once in a month's time.