What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: floating chlorinator - why not?  (Read 15290 times)

knightcap

floating chlorinator - why not?
« on: November 07, 2006, 11:47:36 pm »
newbie here, first post.  I've read and learned a lot here, thanks!  But I have a question I have not seen addressed anywhere.  I have read a lot about the dichlor method of sanitizing (a little after each use) with a weekly shock, and about bromine floaters.  But why can you not use a chlorine floater?  For those using a tub only once or twice a week, but who prefer chlorine, it seems like a hassle to go out every night or two and treat the tub.  A floater with some chlorine tablets seems ideal (maybe remove it when in the tub.)  Is there an obvious reason why its okay to use bromine in a floater, but not chlorine?  Thanks!!

Hot Tub Forum

floating chlorinator - why not?
« on: November 07, 2006, 11:47:36 pm »

hottubdan

• Ultimate Member
  • In the spa business for over 20 years.
Re: floating chlorinator - why not?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2006, 12:18:07 am »
Compressed chlorine is meant for pools; larger bodies of water.  Far to acidic to be an easy solution in a spa.
Award winning Hot Spring dealer for a gazillion years.

Brewman

• Ultimate Member
  • Lead me not into temptation- I can find it myself!
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2006, 08:22:55 am »
Chlorine tablets are trichlor, and are not advised for many spas.  Some may even deny warranty coverage if trichlor is found to cause any problems.
Read your manual to see if they say anything.  Mine says specifically not to use trichlor.
 Bromine is specifically meant for spas, so it's okay to use it in a floater, or in the built in bromine dispenser that some spas have.
Brewman

bosco0633

• Look into my eyes
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2006, 08:25:04 am »
Hey brewman, how come the arctic line of chemicals uses trichlor chlorine????  I stay away from it.  where I live, no dealers carry dichlor, so it is bromine for now.

Rayman