What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Base pad material Cement/Crushed stone?  (Read 6848 times)

BearBath

• Ya snooze Ya Lose
Base pad material Cement/Crushed stone?
« on: October 13, 2005, 07:27:55 pm »
Hiho!
I'm just getting into this. I'm still looking at spas, but I've gotten my landscaping guy to spec out a design. His first plan includes putting the spa on 8" of tamped crushed stone. Most of the installations I have heard about were on a concrete pad or flagstone or wood. Any advice on whether crushed stone would work well?
Thanks,
BearBath

Hot Tub Forum

Base pad material Cement/Crushed stone?
« on: October 13, 2005, 07:27:55 pm »

richny

Re: Base pad material Cement/Crushed stone?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2005, 07:41:42 pm »

I am in the process of putting in a concrete pad...to help ensure stability.  I was told to stay away from less stable materials like gravel, wood directly on the ground, etc...in case it settles.
I was originally setting up to do a 4" slab...but was told tonight from a local plumber/contractor that he would go 6" minimum. Everything I have read indicates 4" with re-bar should be sufficient. The hot tub I am getting is a 6 person, 450 gallon unit.  Now I am not sure...my soil is very compacted...lots of shale...almost no loam or sand...so I figured 4" of concrete should be enough...but now I am second-guessing myself....any comments?
Tks
Rich

TMJ

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2005, 08:37:51 pm »
We used crushed, tamped, stone for our base of 4" concrete. We went with dealer/manufacturer suggestions.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2005, 08:38:58 pm by TMJ »

Brewman

• Ultimate Member
  • Lead me not into temptation- I can find it myself!
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2005, 08:42:53 pm »
Four inches of concrete is the minimum recommended thickness.  It sure won't hurt to go thicker than that.
Nothing to worry about there.
Brewman

BearBath

• Ya snooze Ya Lose
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2005, 05:38:51 am »