What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: In need of advice  (Read 2688 times)

OKC

• We love LA
In need of advice
« on: October 13, 2005, 11:36:58 pm »
Ok, I will admit im a spa newbie so these questions im sure will appear basic.  We have had our spa now for almost 2 weeks.  The first couple of days were great and then our teenager with a couple of friends got in, Im sure they didnt rinse and one had on jean shorts with a t-shirt.  
I have read enough to know that this could possibly be the reason we have foam and bubbles.  I can deal with that.  I'll drain the spa and refill it this weekend.  No big deal.  Is this the proper thing to do?  

Second, when I have it drained Im going to wash it down.  What product do any of you recommend.  A spa dealer in town said to just use Windex mixed with water...spray and wipe.  I have never heard of this.  Any input?
BTW we use it every night.  We love it!!

Hot Tub Forum

In need of advice
« on: October 13, 2005, 11:36:58 pm »

Brewman

• Ultimate Member
  • Lead me not into temptation- I can find it myself!
Re: In need of advice
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2005, 08:14:26 am »
Draining and refilling is fine, or you could try a chemical foam reducer.  We keep one on hand but only have had to use it once or twice in the past few years.  I wouldn't rely on the stuff, but if you have pretty fresh water it might get you by.  

If you do drain, and your spa is clean, you don't necessairly need to clean the sides.  Just rinse really well and get as much old water out as you can, and you will probably be good to go.  We do use a spa surface cleaner every couple water changes.  There are several out there, and these won't suds up your water.

For sure keep the denim shorts out of the spa.  They probably harbor a lot of detergent, as well as possible scratches from any rivets that they may have.  

Brewman

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2005, 09:40:34 am »