What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: I so need help! I'm a newbie!  (Read 3826 times)

llco87

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
I so need help! I'm a newbie!
« on: August 08, 2005, 01:11:56 am »
we have wanted a spa for so very long and since we simply could not afford a brand new model off the floor, we opted to purchase a used model.

We just purchased a used hot tub. It is a Catalina Mariah. It is a 1992 model.

We went to go look at it prior to purchasing it. The tub was up and running. The water was hot and all was working fine. The guy showed me the door where the control panel is along with the timers and such. He showed me the red light indicating the heater.
We paid for it and went back 2 days later (giving the present owner time to drain and disconnect the spa).
We loaded it up with no problems and transported it on a flat trailer to our home.
We unloaded it. Again with no problems. We set it up on a flat level surface. Power was connected and the tub was filled. (it's 220)
The valves were opened so the air could escape as it was stated on the paperwork.
It was turned on.

No red light.
Pumps work fine. Jets work. Plenty of water movement.
No light.
We have waited and the temp does not seem to be getting any warmer. It's been 12 hrs and the temp is only 5 degrees warmer than when first filled.

We are not sure if the absence of the light means that the heater is not working. Or if the light is just burned out. Since the water does not get warm, it's not working. Don't know if it is bad and needs replaced (oh my goodness, that would stink) or if something is not connected properly after the move. (where do we look)

What are we doing wrong if anything?

The system inside is a Acura Spa Systems Inc.
There are two timer dial thingies. One says it is FILTER. One says that it is HEATER.
There are "pins" all the way around them.
We don' t know if they are supposed to be up or down. We don't know if they are supposed to match each other.