What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Question about wet foam and refoaming tub ...  (Read 4683 times)

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
Question about wet foam and refoaming tub ...
« on: October 18, 2015, 09:51:55 am »
So based on my other post it looks like I found the leak and I am making sure that the repair is holding; I'm also looking to see if there are any more areas leaking.

So the tub has a lot of wet foam which I am scraping out but how far do I have to go? That foam is holding a lot of water...
I know that wet foam provides zero insulating properties but do I need to get all of it out - what happens when a tub is professionally repaired with a leak? And I know I am not a professional.

Then comes the question of refoaming ... I bought the Great Stuff foam that Home Depot sells in 2 different types. High expanding for areas that have nothing near it and I just want to fill large areas and windows and doors which is minimally expanding for areas around pipes - does this sound like a good plan? Any other ideas?

Thanks for any help!

Hot Tub Forum

Question about wet foam and refoaming tub ...
« on: October 18, 2015, 09:51:55 am »

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
Re: Question about wet foam and refoaming tub ...
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2015, 11:27:59 am »
I came up with a second question ... Should I leave the cabinet open on that side before refoaming to let it dry for an extended period?

My only concern is that NJ is supposed to dip into the 20's and I would hate to leave that area open and possibly freeze. I could leave the side loosely on at night and take it off during the day if temps climb above 32 F.

Of course I should have done it during the summer but my wife's priorities were more important than my priorities!! LOL ;)

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2015, 02:37:56 pm »
I tried the Great Stuff big gap foam and it didn't expand as I thought it would so I think I am going to forget refoaming the tub.