What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Preparing for a new hot tub??  (Read 2693 times)

Spud

Preparing for a new hot tub??
« on: March 11, 2015, 06:19:34 am »
Hi guys, I'm a newbie to the forum and really hope you experts can assist.

I am procuring a new hot tub (my first one!!) for hydrotherapy reasons as my wife has fibromyalgia and planning to invest up to $15,000 for a pretty decent model (recommendations appreciated). However......... my summer house (log cabin) where I planning to site the tub is due to be erected next week and before I even consider jumping in and buying a hot tub, I want to make sure I prepare the cabin the best way possible to sustain it's life.  Can any of you advise on the following.......

I have a strengthened Larch flooring being fitted as my base so weight should not be an issue.....

? what treatments for rot etc. do I need to apply to floor (including the walls and roof??)
? what type of waterproof (& anti-slip) flooring is best (heavy duty linoleum? but what about airflow in between?)
? humidity extraction, recommend a humidifier and how about an extract fan for a 4.2M X 3.6M cabin?
? with the cover on whilst tub still on, will open windows be enough for air circulation or can I expect a lot of humidity which will need an extract fan being on 24/7?
? drainage - is a wet vacuum sufficient for spillages on to waterproof floor instead of fitting a drain in floor (reluctant to do this for chemically contaminated water damaging my lawn/garden)
? AM I MISSING ANYTHING  AS A 'MUST DO' before delving in to the deep end?

Thanks guys, appreciate your input.  And by the way.......I live in Scotland, UK where we get 8 months of bad weather and 4 months of winter (thus why the tub is going inside!!).  Have a great day.

Hot Tub Forum

Preparing for a new hot tub??
« on: March 11, 2015, 06:19:34 am »

Dr. Spa™ Ret.

• Ultimate Member
  • Retired (mostly) from the industry after 33 years
Re: Preparing for a new hot tub??