What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Hot Tub Hydro Pump Cutting Out Teuco  (Read 4216 times)

alancarsc

Hot Tub Hydro Pump Cutting Out Teuco
« on: June 03, 2013, 07:07:48 am »
I have a Teuco 607 (Italian) Tub bought just a few months ago on eBay. It's probably 7 years old, but we have been using it without any issues for just a few months.

It has a separate pump for the jets/hydro and an independent circulation/heating pump (Badu Top). A few days back the jet pump started juddering mid cycle and then cut out. If I left it for around 30 minutes and switched hydro back on it would sometimes run all day, but other times it would not kick in at all.

This has gotten progressively worse and I wondered if anyone could shed some light on what was going on before I pay top dollars to get an engineer in. I'm a time served electrician and can therefore attempt anything down that route pretty competently, but I just don't have any experience with tubs.

The pump is a Gerit Badu 21/40-55 HG MONOF. 1.1kW 2002 model.

Could it be the capacitors? Any help very welcome.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2013, 08:15:23 pm by Forum Admin »

Hot Tub Forum

Hot Tub Hydro Pump Cutting Out Teuco
« on: June 03, 2013, 07:07:48 am »

Chas

• Mentor Level Member
  • Hot water is Cool.
    • Spas etc.
Re: Hot Tub Hydro Pump Cutting Out Teuco
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2013, 12:13:03 pm »
I would check first for low voltage. There is no point in measuring that voltage anywhere except right where it feeds the pump, and again: no point in measuring it at any other time than just as the pump is trying to start up.

If the voltage drops more than about 5% of the incoming line level, then you need to re-wire the tub with larger conductors.

8)
Former HotSpring Dealer - Southern Cal.

alancarsc

« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2013, 12:37:04 pm »