What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: A simple water care schedule?  (Read 5561 times)

zapta

A simple water care schedule?
« on: December 25, 2012, 05:45:07 pm »
Hi all, a spa newbie here. Two weeks ago we got a small CalSpas FZ522L (125 galons). The dealer set it up and left us with starter kit and instructions for a 2 step bromine water care (no floater, ¾ SPARKLE SOCH every day or two, weekly CHLORINE and NO MORE PROBLEMS).  I am looking to simplify the maintenance to a once a week process. Our load is 2 clean bathers 30min, twice a week. Water temp is 100F. No ozonator.

From reading around I am thinking of having ongoing maintenance along these lines:
1. A floater with Leisure Times bromine tabs.
2. Water balancing once a week with Leisure Times Spa Up/Down and Calcium Booster. (Do I need also separate PH/Alk increasers reducers?)
3. Shocking once a week with Leisure Times Renew.
4. Testing weekly with 4 way Bromine strips.
5. Water refill every three months (with pre fill filter and one time Leisure Times Sodium Bromide).

Is this a reasonable plan? Anything missing?  Any other chemicals I should get?

I am not trying to come with the perfect and most cost effective plan, just something good enough that we can sustain and that will not get us infected.

Thanks,

Tal

Hot Tub Forum

A simple water care schedule?
« on: December 25, 2012, 05:45:07 pm »

chem geek

Re: A simple water care schedule?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2012, 03:59:00 am »
Unless you want to plan on soaking with relatively high levels of bromine, then you should plan to add an oxidizer after each soak (after initially adding sodium bromide after a fresh fill), so twice a week.  If you do that, then you won't need any additional shocking and the bromine floater can be set to a dosing level that just provides a low 2-4 ppm bromine background level that should be more pleasant during the soak.

zapta

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2012, 02:22:25 pm »