What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Water help  (Read 2382 times)

tsaileus

Water help
« on: March 10, 2008, 06:01:31 pm »
As a true newbie, I'm emptying my tub as I speak for the first time. I'm embarrassed to say how long I've waited.
Anyway, I'll be needing "stuff" to put in the water. Can anyone give me a concrete list of what I need? How often should I change the filters? How about the ozonator? I know there is tons of info on this site concerning all of these questions but I'm SO confused! Please help!

PS: also any suggestions as to where to purchase said ingredients on line would be greatly appreciated, as dealer is quite a distance away.

thanks

Hot Tub Forum

Water help
« on: March 10, 2008, 06:01:31 pm »

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
Re: Water help
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2008, 07:24:44 pm »
What kind of stuff do you want - chlorine stuff or bromine stuff?

What does you water come out of the tap like?

The more info you give the more we can.

tsaileus

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2008, 08:28:41 pm »
benefits of chlorine vs bromine?

What sort of info would help about my tap water?

One thing I know is that it tastes pretty good  :-/

My water is not very "hard".  What else can I tell you?

Thanks for trying to help...

Vinny

• Ultimate Member
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2008, 08:58:00 pm »
Did you ever test your water in the spa? Not trying to be funny but it sounds like you never did. Did you inherit this spa (bought a house with a spa) or is this a new spa with old water?

Get into the habit of changinging the water every 3 to 4 months. I would also buy another set of filters and change them out every month depending on use. Clean the ones that you took out  and you're good to go with no down time.

Water chemisty in a pool and spa consists of knowing it's PH, alkalinity and hardness. I always recommend a drop test kit but others use strips.