What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Why People Buy a Certain Spa  (Read 12659 times)

Micah

Re: Why People Buy a Certain Spa
« Reply #30 on: May 16, 2007, 01:29:18 am »

We have the equipment door off of one spa.  Hot Spring, Caldera, D1, and maybe others have a finished looking equipment bay.  I was surprised to find that with Jacuzzi and Sundance, a company with a good reputation, when you remove the door (many wood screws later) you are looking at equipment with the insulated shell right there.  Did not look finished to me.

Have they changed?  Do other brands have the finished look? :-?

I think d-1 has the cleanest looking equipment bay.  It is so impressive.  I just wonder what purpose it serves.  As a repair man of many many years, I cant think of a single reason to enclose your equipment bay.  But as a salesman I bet we can "make up" quite a few reasons why having it enclosed make one brand superior to a brand that dosent. ::)
« Last Edit: May 16, 2007, 01:29:44 am by Micah »
Jacuzzi, Hot Springs and Caldera dealer in Los Angeles

Hot Tub Forum

« Reply #30 on: May 16, 2007, 01:29:18 am »

windsurfdog

• Loving this cool weather....
« Reply #31 on: May 16, 2007, 08:26:36 am »
As far as "finished" equipment bays, I think you will find that TP spas purposefully do not have a finished, enclosed equipment bay in order to circulate pump heat throughout the cabinet.  And, specifically in the case of MS, pumps are mounted on 3 sides of the spa.  This helps to dissipate the heat as well as giving more room in which to mount the equipment.  The downside is that to fully service the pumps, one must have room on more than one side available, which really isn't a bad idea anyway should a leak appear.

So, putting emphasis on a neat equipment bay or, conversely, faulting a TP spa for not having a "finished" equipment bay isn't necessarily a desired characteristic.
We, the unwilling, led by the unqualified, are doing the impossible for the ungrateful...

Zep