What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Electric Panel  (Read 3021 times)

brian_tr

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Electric Panel
« on: January 24, 2007, 09:01:46 am »
I have an old Zimsco electric panel.  When I got my hot tub 4 years ago the guy that did my wiring put in a 100 amp breaker to feed a new panel for my hot tub breaker.  He also had to move a couple of breakers from the Zimsco to the new panel to make room for the 100 amp breaker.  A light in one of my rooms starting flickering a couple of weeks ago.  I finally traced it down to the breaker in the Zimsco panel.  I pulled the breaker and it has been arcing on the bus bar.  I cleaned it up so that is making decent contact for now but I need to have the panel replaced as soon as possible.  Any suggestions on getting estamites or having work done?

Hot Tub Forum

Electric Panel
« on: January 24, 2007, 09:01:46 am »

galen

• Maxxus
Re: Electric Panel
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2007, 10:01:44 am »
Brian, stay with one of the major makers. Off brands get you into trouble when its Sunday morning and you need something. Go to your neighborhood hardware store and find out what breakers they handle. Square D, GE, so on. Or if you have a Lowe's or Home Depot. They will have a better selection. Just stay with a major brand.

Brewman

• Ultimate Member
  • Lead me not into temptation- I can find it myself!
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2007, 10:23:03 am »
If you're not up to doing the work yourselves, try and get a couple electricians to come out and bid the job.  Be prepared for sticker shock- unless the electricians in your area are looking for work.  
 In this area, a professional panel replacement would probably cost somewhere from $1000 to $2000, depending on your specific situation.

And most likely, a professional would provide you with viable components.
 Like mentioned above- GE and Square D are easy to find replacement breakers for, and Siemens are also pretty compatible.