What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Bought My Hot Tub  (Read 3660 times)

hottbpete

• Caldera Niagara
Bought My Hot Tub
« on: September 29, 2006, 09:52:22 am »
After 6 weeks of research I have found the tub.  I want to thank everyone on this forum who has been giving me information.  It was very helpful.  The winner for me is the Caldera Niagara.

I will take a few minutes to explain the decision.

I looked at Caldera Niagara
Jacuzzi 400 series
Arctic
Aspen-Local St. Louis Mfg
Hot Springs
Sundance

When I started the search,  I wanted someone in this forum to tell me which was the best.....nobody did.  I thought cripes...come on...give me an opinion...  Over and over I heard the same thing....wet test and buy the one that is comfortable.  Bottom line....that's what happened.

I earned a PHD in Hot Tubbing.....Ozonators...open foam...closed foam...Insulated full foam...No Foam..bromide...chlorine...maintenance of the tub...different lifters....the list can go on....

In the end...all of these tubs (most) were on the same level.  They all did things a little different...but overall were all great names in tubs.

The Niagra won for two reasens:
   Comfort
       The height was great, I could have my arms on the sides, the footwell had a ridge to hold you in...the corner chairs were really comfortable. The head rests were...at your head.  
   Jet Controls:  There was not one other tub that had the variety of control for water and air.  I like it very very soft and my better half loves it rough....easy fellas

Reasons to not buy the others:

Bullfrog...cool tub and idea....but very little control over jets except to turn the individula jets by hand

Jaccuzzi...had to go the 400 to get any real control over the jets....and then you had to live with the big hump on one side.  This could not fit in the area we are putting the tub....and how would the cover work?