What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Ozonator question  (Read 2847 times)

hottbpete

• Caldera Niagara
Ozonator question
« on: September 15, 2006, 03:34:39 pm »
I have a local Manufacturer that uses the Balboa o3 ozanator.  After speaking to the 800 pound gorillas in this market....they tell me that a DC is the way to go and that this type is out of date.

My question....does it really matter? :)

Hot Tub Forum

Ozonator question
« on: September 15, 2006, 03:34:39 pm »

Gary

• Laugh daily you will live longer
Re: Ozonator question
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2006, 04:04:15 pm »
I like the one from Balboa, it requires no service and the ozone production never decreases over time.

The CD (corona discharge) are fine but they will need servicing or the chip replaced (1 to 2 years).

Do not waste your money on a ballast fired ozone.
I am a scientist, I convert beer, wine and whiskey into urine.

drewstar

• Mentor Level Member
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2006, 04:25:04 pm »
I am led to belive that a CD 03 system produces significantly much more 03 than a UV system, and at a much lower cost per weight.

There is some debate over if a 03 system is effective at all, however, I see a trend of folks who are running a CD system 24/7 with a contact chamber consistantly reporting good results, and the poorer results seem to more amoung folks with UV, aftermarkert  units (no contact chamber) or units not running all the time (or  any combination of the latter 3).  I have no data to back that claim up and is more my personal impression.  FWIW :)

I have a CD 03 unit and I like it.

There is a TON of info on the web concerning 03.

http://www.ozoneapplications.com/info/cd_vs_uv.htm

http://www.coolantconsultants.com/ozone_technologies.htm

Or google "Ozone"

Ozone Uv vs CD

It may help, or just confuse you even more.  :P

I thought all of the national tub makers switched to CD and dropped the UV systems?
« Last Edit: September 15, 2006, 04:27:53 pm by drewstar »