What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Does MPS Destroy Chlorine?  (Read 1593 times)

tuggnet

• 2006 HotSpring Grandee
Does MPS Destroy Chlorine?
« on: July 24, 2006, 06:03:48 pm »
Shocked with MPS last Friday and tested the water on Sunday.  My chlorine level was almost 0.  That's down from about 3PPM before the shock.

Will MPS overcome chlorine?  Would it be wise to include a bit of diclor with the MPS shock?

I use .25 oz (dry) diclor per person after each use and usually don't have any problems.  

I usually shock with diclor but thought I'd try the MPS route.

Cheers!

Hot Tub Forum

Does MPS Destroy Chlorine?
« on: July 24, 2006, 06:03:48 pm »

Brookenstein

Re: Does MPS Destroy Chlorine?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2006, 06:30:31 pm »
I'm no expert, but here goes...

chlorine dissipates quickly so if you had 3 on Friday, then that would be normal to have 0 on Sunday.  I do not know what MPS does to chlorine.  I use 1 tsp per person dichlor after use and then shock weekly with MPS.  Occasionally I will shock with dichlor.

The_real_Clown_Shoes

• Hot Spring Salesman since '05.
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2006, 07:43:52 pm »
No.

MPS actually aids the chlorine in its effectiveness.  They call it Chlorine Companion in most commercial applications.

lskarp

• There is no patch for stupid
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2006, 10:20:54 pm »
My understanding is that the idea in a personal spa is to bring the levels of sanitizer up, and it should fall rather quickly to close to zero before the next use.

I come from owning a pool so this was a weird concept for me as well.  But my H20 is clear and not stinky as long as I follow the instructions.  I also use clarifier every couple of weeks to get all of the wife's lotion and my sweat out of the water.  

Brewman

• Ultimate Member
  • Lead me not into temptation- I can find it myself!
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2006, 08:11:44 am »
 If you want to keep the chlorine reading at the 3 to 5 level, you'll have to add it daily.