What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: N2 and Free Chlorine  (Read 5006 times)

lskarp

• There is no patch for stupid
N2 and Free Chlorine
« on: July 10, 2006, 04:16:40 pm »
I am pretty new at this so bear with me.  I purchased my new spa (Vita Spa Nuage) approx 3 weeks ago.  The dealer set me up with Leisure Time Brand Products (Chlorine).

My instructions are to add 1 tsp of Spa 56 (chlorine) after use.  Once a week, add 2 TBS of Spa 56 and 2 TBS of Renew (MPS Shock).  I have a Natures 2 stick in the filter as well.

My question in this.  My free chlorine is running at less than 1ppm the morning after.  I imagine that it is higher after adding the Chlorine when I am done at night.  Is this safe?  It is great as there is no smell and the clarity is excellent.  Am I using this correctly.

Hot Tub Forum

N2 and Free Chlorine
« on: July 10, 2006, 04:16:40 pm »

drewstar

• Mentor Level Member
Re: N2 and Free Chlorine
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2006, 04:30:22 pm »
It sounds right to me (but I'm no expert).

Check the chlorine 10 minutes after you add after you use the tub.

The goal is to get it up to 5ppm to sanitize the tub, and then fall low, so when you soak there is very little chlorine.
07 Caldera Geneva

JJ

• Vita Nuage
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2006, 04:42:12 pm »
I usually add 2 tsp after soaking, especially if there has been more than one person in the spa.  The Nuage is 465 gallons, and I can't quite raise the ppm to 5 with less.  It always drops to 0.5 ppm before the next day.

I am about to join the "Nature 2 is a waste of money" club and just go with diclor.

lskarp

« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2006, 05:01:40 pm »
Isn't Spa56 Diclor?  I think it is.  Anyway, I don't know any different about N2, seems like Voodoo to me also.  Putting rocks in the filter and use less Chlorine and shock?  For now I am going with it.  It is like $22 for a stick which lasts 4 months supposedly.  We will see.

THX for the help!!

I love the Nuage.  

jcmsrv

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!