What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Generator for freeze protection?  (Read 7538 times)

jmh

• I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Generator for freeze protection?
« on: May 10, 2006, 11:26:51 am »
Hello......I am a newbie and will be getting a first spa in a few weeks.  I have an electrician coming in a week to do the wiring for a Sundance Altamar (2006).  Since the electrician will be here I want to consider having him do wiring for a generator for winter freeze protection.  I already have a generator (Honda 5000 watt  120/240 volt) hooked up to various household things  furnace,  frige., water pump etc.  A gen tran is in place for this.   I want to hook up the spa to the main service (200 amp) with 50 or 60 amp  service disconnect or gfci breaker and #6 wire.   To use the generator in the winter (if there is an extended power outage)(they happen here) I know I would have to do a manual wire change at the control box on the hot tub to shift from 60 to 30 amp. to run just the heater and a circ pump.    

Am I on the right track with this????    Is a Service disconnet  best to use near the spa to avoic false tripping? If so what is the best brand to buy for this application?

Hot Tub Forum

Generator for freeze protection?
« on: May 10, 2006, 11:26:51 am »

SerjicalStrike

• Reinstate Hank Williams!!
    • Great Bay Spa and Sauna
Re: Generator for freeze protection?
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2006, 11:54:10 am »
I prefer the GFCI outside near the tub.  Makes servicing the spa that much easier, meaning you do not even have to be home for the service guy to work on your spa.  

Chas

• Mentor Level Member
  • Hot water is Cool.
    • Spas etc.
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2006, 11:55:35 am »
I have set up a HotSpring grandee for a couple who live 'off grid' full time. All we did was hardwire the circ pump to run on their battery system so they have constant circulation.