What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Wiring for a hot tub  (Read 6629 times)

clayclay

• HOT TUB!!!!!
Wiring for a hot tub
« on: February 20, 2006, 10:16:54 pm »
I just started a search for my 1st hot tub last weekend, and boy what an adventure it is. I have talked to the Jazuzzi person. His best pitch was the hard plastic bottom of the hot tub. Sundance had their heating coil element that would last until eternity, etc, etc. Going next weekent to look at CalSpas.

My question is since i am a total novice to the wiring, what do i have to do? Please help.

Thanks

clay

Hot Tub Forum

Wiring for a hot tub
« on: February 20, 2006, 10:16:54 pm »

LtDan

• Jacuzzi J345
Re: Wiring for a hot tub
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2006, 10:19:28 pm »
Lots of good info the forum if you do a search, but without a doubt pay someone who knows what they are doing and have it done right the first time.

Tatooed_Lady

• Participating in the Witness Protection Program
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2006, 12:29:33 am »
I would think that it's required to have a certified electrician mess with the wiring, regardless of how novice/professional you are...ask the sales people at the tub stores in your area to be sure.
I read a post somewhere on here about a guy that had a neighbor that was hooking his tub up.....and every time he threw the switch blacked out his house...probably VERY frustrating for the neighbor, but cheap entertainment for the neighborhood. ;)
RIP C-Rod

Snowbird

• What did he say?
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2006, 07:39:13 am »
Your local code will dictate wiring.  You need to research that and follow it.  Whether you do it yourself or hire someone will depend on your skill level.

It is important to find out the max amperage requirement (probably 240volt 60 amp) for your tub and install it.  Anything less will automatically limit tub performance.