What's the Best Hot Tub

Author Topic: Problem tub or problem HS dealerÉIÕm confused  (Read 10372 times)

Chris_H

Re: Problem tub or problem HS dealerÉIÕm confused
« Reply #15 on: January 26, 2006, 10:16:07 am »
Nope, $75 dollars isn’t bad.  I am sure they are probably losing money on the deal.

1.How many hottub repairmen are there compared to those other professions?  It is simple economics of supply and demand.  
2.The consumer needs to use a factory-trained repairman or your warranty will be voided.  
3.A trained technician needs to understand both electronics and plumbing.  
4.How much does it cost to get to a house just for gas?  
5.How much insurance for the car cost per service call?  
6.How much does the repairman get per hour of work?

I am an accountant and get between $100 and $200 an hour.  That is cheap for accounting services.

Hot Tub Forum

« Reply #15 on: January 26, 2006, 10:16:07 am »

ssbraun

• '05 Maxxus
« Reply #16 on: January 26, 2006, 10:27:13 am »
I agree with Chris H...when I was a field service tech for a major industrial pump / compressor company, we charged 75/hr and had trouble covering costs even at that.  Commercial insurance rates can be very high, as are fuel costs.  Also, the techs may not be able to bill out 8 hours every day, and their salary has to come from somewhere :)

salesdvl

« Reply #17 on: January 26, 2006, 10:32:19 am »
Electricians=$100 per hour
Plumbers=$85 per hour
Master Carpenters=$45 per hour

Not to take anything away from hot tub technicians, but is the level of training and difficulty comparable to the occupations listed above?

Spa techs are highly trained.  And if they do good they get a banana.   ;D   ;)   ;D
Measure once, cut twice.

drewstar

• Mentor Level Member
« Reply #18 on: January 26, 2006, 10:39:25 am »
BTW, I don’t mean any disrespect of the tech people on this forum but don’t you think $75 an hour is somewhat expensive to repair a hot tub? In these parts costs are as follows: